top of page

The Name of the Game is....

I have been working on writing the story for my game for well over a month now, and have been making good progress! But I have been having the hardest time coming up with a name for both the game and the protagonist. Nothing I have thought of so far fits, or feels right.

So I continued to write, and hoped that the name would come to me.

Well, today I had a BREAKTHROUGH!! I have been including bird symbolism and imagery throughout this game, as birds represent freedom, which is something those struck by illness want more than anything else. So today, I decided to look up how the word 'bird' is said in different languages and came up with what I think is an amazing title and name of the main character:

Oiseau.

French for bird, oiseau (pronounced wah-zo) not only gives the protagonist a unique name, but will also stand out amongst other game titles on platforms like Steam. I can see the title Oiseau being listed amongst other indi platformers like Ori and the Blind Forest and Journey. I'm going to continue working hard to make that happen some day!

Penny for your thoughts
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page