top of page

Art Imitates Life

Life is interesting in the way it is always looping. I feel like we are always repeating different life events in a constant cycle. This is why there is so much art in the world. Art always imitates life in some way. Everyone who has ever created something has used their own life as inspiration, either deliberately or accidentally. I believe that's why people can be so connected to media, where they can see their own stories being told. This would also mean that video games can be even more powerful because players have a direct connection to the story and characters.

Creating Oiseau is incredibly important to me for this reason. I wanted to make a game where people could connect with a story of illness, pain, and hope. Create a universal experience where they either connect with Oiseau and her struggles on a personal level or a learning experience where they get to witness the power of someone overcome a terrible life event.

I have found this experience to be therapeutic for myself, a place where I can make art out of my own experiences, and process some of the things that have happened to me in the past year and a half. I'm about to head back to the States today, getting ready for another doctor's appointment because my test results weren't very good last time I went a month ago. I can feel the fear and anxiety I have unfortunately become so used to recently start to creep back in. But as I sit, typing this at the airport terminal waiting to board, I can also feel the internal power I didn't realise I had until this experience start to bloom as well. I might get bad news this week, but that doesn't mean I can't persevere anyway. And you better believe that no matter what happens, I am going to channel this into my own works of art.

Life is constantly moving forward, throwing challenges and obstacles at us at every chance it gets. But we keep getting back up and facing it head on no matter what. Sound familiar? Really, it's no wonder we love and connect to video games as much as we do. They imitate life in a way no other art form can.

Penny for your thoughts
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page